Terror threat levels changed to include all forms of terrorism

A new system to quantify terror threat levels has come into effect that aims to encompass all forms of terrorism.

The changes to the terror threat levels have come after a review process into counter-terrorism following attacks in 2017. The new system will reflect the threat from all forms of terrorism, irrespective of ideology.

There will now be a single national threat level describing the threat to the UK. The threat from Northern Ireland-related terrorism in Northern Ireland will remain separate.

Sajid Javid, Home Secretary, said: “Our approach to stopping terrorists is the same, regardless of the twisted ideology that motivates them.”

“While the Islamist threat remains, we have recently seen an increase in terrorist activity motivated by the extreme right wing.”

“It is therefore important the public is properly informed about the threats we face, which is why we are making these changes.”

The previous system referred to international terrorism, which became synonymous with Islamic extremist terror attacks. The new system aims to reflect the fact that Islamic extremism can be homegrown, as well as the growing number of far-right attacks.

The new levels and definitions are:

  • CRITICAL – an attack is highly likely in the near future
  • SEVERE – an attack is highly likely
  • SUBSTANTIAL – an attack is likely
  • MODERATE – an attack is possible but not likely
  • LOW – an attack is highly unlikely

The Joint Terrorism Analysis Centre (JTAC) changed the definition following the MI5 Operational Improvement Review. The JTAC workes independently from the government and will continue to publish threat levels on the government and MI5 website.

If you would like to join our community and read more articles like this then please click here.

The post Terror threat levels changed to include all forms of terrorism appeared first on Defence Online.


Who are we?

From publishing the first national directory of public sector contracts, to being the first to market with our online Tracker solution, we have been the true pioneers of technology and innovation in the public sector marketplace. Throughout our 39 years, we have continued to evolve and chart new territory – placing our customers at the heart of everything we do. Take your business to the next level with Tracker now.

If you request a demo today!

Download your Free UK Defence Industry Report

Get SAAS-Y This Summer with DCI

A member of our sales team will give you a call to discuss your business with you and create a demo personalised to your business and sector needs.

Start Your Free Trial Today

Download your Free UK Defence Industry Report

Download your Free UK Defence Industry Report

When you sign up for a 3 day free trial or demo.

Limited time only

    BiP Solutions owns DCI and we look after your details carefully. We offer a range of products, services and events (some of which are free) that help buyers tender more efficiently and suppliers find, bid for and win public and private sector contracts. Only tick this box if you wish to receive information about these. We will never share your details with third parties and you will have the opportunity of opting out of communications every time we contact you. For further details, please see our Privacy Policy